We have a team of highly experienced and dedicated staff members, all trained to Level 3 or above. You can find out more about each of them here.

Sam Dexter – Manager

My name is Sam Dexter and I have been the Leader and now Manager of Belton Playgroup since 2007.

I have seen many changes over the 13 years and am proud of how we have grown from a couple of mornings per week for 2 ½ to 4 year-olds to 46 hours of childcare for ages 18 months to 10 years.

I have worked in Childcare for 30 years and have a Foundation Degree in Children and Young People’s Services, Level 2 in Understanding Autism and in Children and Young People’s Mental Health.

I have been a Special Educational Needs Coordinator for over 20 years.

I live with my husband, Ted and my youngest daughter. I have 2 other children and a step-daughter all who are grown up and busy making their way in the world.

I love reading and walking with my dog, Colin. I also enjoy Pilates.

Becky Swann – Deputy Manager

Hi my name is Becky and I’ve worked at Belton Playgroup since 2014.
I live in Belton with Nigel and our two children.
I love to go on holiday and can’t wait until our next one. I also like to go walking in Derbyshire and the Lake District. 
I love working with children and watching them play and learn and have fun is one of the best reasons to go to work

Jo-Anne Webber – Second Deputy and Communication & Language Support

Hello, my name is Jo-Anne but everybody calls me Jo. I have lived in Belton since 1992. I am married to Steve and we have 2 grown up girls, Abigale and Nicole. We have our own touring caravan and have had lots of lovely holidays in it. My dad lives in Skegness so we have lots of visits to the seaside; I also enjoy going abroad.

I have worked at Belton Playgroup since 2001 and I am the communication support lead. I am level 3 trained in childcare and also first aid and safeguarding trained.

Vanessa Cook – Third Deputy and Designated Safeguarding Lead

Hi, my name is Vanessa and I have worked at Playgroup for 12 years. I am BTEC Level 3 trained. I have my first aid certificate, safeguarding and food and hygiene.

I have worked in childcare for 25 years, working in nurseries, afterschool clubs and for a charity.

I live in Shepshed with Mark and our 3 children Kieran, Riley and Rhianna. I enjoy going for walks and bike rides with my family. I love going on holiday, especially going to the seaside.

Kelly Eversfield

NVQ Level 3

First Aid trained

Amanda Overton

I am Amanda Jane Overton. I have recently joined the team of early years teachers at Belton Playgroup but have been involved with the group for over 8 years; as a committee member, then as Chair and most recently, until becoming a member of staff, as treasurer.

I have three girls and all attended the playgroup before moving up to primary school.

I have 10 years experience of teaching and supporting children from 9 months to 12 years in my previous career as a home-based child minder. I have gained various certificates and qualifications during my carer including ‘Understanding Autism’ and ‘Autistic Masking’, ‘Understanding and Managing Difficult Emotions’ and ‘The Graduated Approach to Supporting Children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND). I am also working towards my Foundational Degree in Children’s and Young People’s Services, specialising in the SEND pathway.

I am addicted to Pinterest and have more craft projects on the go than I will ever be able to finish! I also LOVE my garden; it’s the place I go to relax and rest my mind.

Megan Langley

My name is Megan Langley, I am new to Belton Playgroup. I am the leader of the sea lions group for the after school club.

I have 5 years’ experience in childcare. I achieved level 2 and level 3 cache early years educator. 

I live with my partner and my 2 year old daughter.

I enjoy walking my dog Fudge with my partner and daughter. I also enjoy spending time with my family and taking my daughter on lots of different days out.

Leah Butlin

My name is Leah and I was born on the 19th of January 2002.

I enjoy Art and Photography which I studied at college in 2018–2020 and now I’m studying childcare as an apprentice.

I started helping my mum with her childminding business 3 years ago, which made me want to further my career in childcare as I enjoy working with children.

In my spare time I also like taking my dog for a walk and spending time with my family.

One of my favourite places is Great Yarmouth, there’s lots of things to do there.